Many people believe that knowing the rules of the road is enough if they intend to travel by car in South Carolina, but it is also important to understand the laws governing car accident claims and insurance. If you have been the victim of a collision in South Carolina, it is important to know if and how you should file for compensation, as well as who to approach for advice regarding your claim.
A Greenville personal-injury lawyer will have extensive knowledge of local laws and may be able to advise you on the best way to proceed given your circumstances. The Churdar Law Firm is a respected personal-injury firm based in South Carolina, and we have achieved successful outcomes in injury cases involving car accidents, truck crashes and other types of injury.
We can assess your case and determine if you may have a legitimate claim. Call us today at 864-233-0203 to schedule an appointment.
If you intend to file a car accident lawsuit, it is important to keep the following in mind:
According to South Carolina Legislature, you have three years to file a personal-injury lawsuit in the state of South Carolina. You also have three years to file for property damage, including damage to your car.
It is important to keep this deadline in mind even if you are only filing an insurance claim. The sooner you file your claim, the better, and if you are suffering serious injuries, it is important to contact an experienced lawyer before the deadline expires.
If you choose to wait until the statute of limitations closes on your personal-injury claim, the court may refuse to hear your case. At the same time, the negligent driver’s insurance company will know you can no longer bring a lawsuit against its client, and it may be significantly harder to get the compensation you need to cover your medical expenses.
Experts suggest that it is best to keep the lawsuit as leverage against the negligent driver. In many cases, the threat of a lawsuit will be enough to get a settlement out of the insurance company before the case goes to court. Another important issue to keep in mind regarding South Carolina car accident laws involves insurance.
Minimum Insurance Levels in South Carolina
As in most states, South Carolina law requires that you have adequate insurance coverage. According to DMV.org, in South Carolina, this means drivers must have coverage of at least $25,000 for the injury or death of an individual, $25,000 for property damage and a total of $50,000 for a single crash.
If you sustain injuries in a collision, one of the best ways to ensure you are not disadvantaged is to contact an experienced Greenville accident attorney. Call the Churdar Law Firm today at 864-233-0203 to schedule an appointment. We can evaluate your case and determine if you have a valid claim for compensation.